Autodesk Fusion 360 Generative Design Extension

Topology-optimized designs using AI

What’s the Autodesk Fusion 360 Generative Design Extension?

With the Autodesk Fusion 360 Generative Design Extension, your team can perform weight- or strength-optimized designs using topology optimization (AI-based). This provides the ability to create a wide variety of designs in a very short time, without the need for complex inputs and powerful computers. The software is cloud-based and can take into account a wide variety of constraints – from 3D printing to injection-molded parts.

The following are examples of steps that Generative Design Extension can take to help you reduce part development time and develop creative, modern designs.

Advantages of the Fusion 360 Generative Design Extension

Improved product performance through generative design

Create novel designs that feature weight reduction, improved structural integrity and longer life.

Increased productivity with generative design

Generative design takes advantage of machine learning and artificial intelligence to implement even more design ideas even faster.

Reduction of all product costs

Identify generative design solutions for component protection, minimized material usage, and the cost of various manufacturing methods.

How does the Generative Design Extension work?

Construction of the black box

At the beginning, a simple geometry can be generated via the CAD features in the software – this represents the generally available installation space.

Construction of further boundary conditions

In addition to the start geometry, bodies can also be defined on which the bearing and load conditions are defined, which then provide the basis for the topology optimization (green areas contain loads and bearings, yellow the start geometry).

Creation of obstacles

If certain areas are definitely not to be used as black boxes, they can be defined as obstacles. These can be, for example, other components in a construction (here, the component marked in red as an example).

Definition of loads and bearings

As shown in the example picture, bearing surfaces or points and loads can be specified. This can be defined by simple point forces or area forces, moments or many other possibilities.

Definition of the goals and manufacturing methods

The geometries can be optimized according to stiffness or weight. In addition, one or more preferred materials can be selected. This is followed by the selection of the manufacturing methods – so far these include additive, up to 5-axis milling and, in the preview, die casting or injection molding.

Generation of the different designs

Various design options are then calculated fully automatically on the basis of all boundary conditions. After just a few minutes, it can be observed how the different algorithms follow different shape formation approaches and generate designs for every manufacturing and material combination.

Selection of one or more generative designs

Afterwards, the generated designs can be transferred directly into a surface model – this process takes a few seconds. Surface models can be created from all generated designs and used further. The results can also be compared with each other using a wide range of evaluations.

More options in Fusion 360 after design creation

A wide range of Fusion 360 functions can then be used to check the suitability of the different designs. For example, Simulation Extension is ideal for analyzing the different geometries in terms of their strength, fillability or warpage, and for making further optimizations.

State-of-the-art visualization options in one place

3D rendering is the process of using computer software to generate an image from a model. Rendering is used in countless industries and application areas: architecture, simulators, computer games, special effects in feature films and TV productions, or even for visualizing designs.

Generative Design Extension
2077,- €pro Jahr
  • - Topology optimization
  • - 2.5, 3, 5-axis milling
  • - Metal and injection molding
  • - Observed wall thicknesses and draft angles
  • - 3D printing (additive)
  • - Countless design algorithms for new products

Return to the Fusion 360 main page

Autodesk Fusion 360 and Product Design & Simulation Extension Overview

For further information on the operation and use of Fusion 360, we recommend attending our training courses.

Autodesk Fusion 360 Generative Design Extension

Topologieoptimierte Designs mithilfe von KI

Was ist die Autodesk Fusion 360 Generative Design Extension?

Mit der Autodesk Fusion 360 Generative Design Extension kann Ihr Team gewichts- oder festigkeitsoptimierte Designs mithilfe von Topologieoptimierung (KI-basiert) durchführen. Damit besteht die Möglichkeit, in kürzester Zeit verschiedenste Designs zu erzeugen, ohne dass komplexe Eingaben getätigt und leistungsstarke Rechner verwendet werden müssen. Die Software arbeitet cloudbasiert und kann verschiedenste Randbedingungen berücksichtigen – vom 3D-Druck bis hin zum Spritzgussbauteil.

Im Folgenden werden beispielhafte Schritte gezeigt, anhand derer die Generative Design Extension für Sie die Entwicklungszeit von Bauteilen reduziert und kreative und moderne Designs entwickelt.

Vorteile der Fusion 360 Generative Design Extension

Verbesserte Produktleistung durch generatives Design

Schaffen Sie neuartige Konstruktionen, die sich durch Gewichtsreduzierung, verbesserte strukturelle Integrität und eine längere Lebensdauer auszeichnen.

Erhöhte Produktivität mit generativem Design

Das generative Design nutzt die Vorteile des maschinellen Lernens und der künstlichen Intelligenz, um noch schneller noch mehr Konstruktionsideen umzusetzen.

Reduzierung sämtlicher Produktkosten

Identifizieren Sie generative Design-Lösungen für die Absicherung von Bauteilen, einen minimierten Materialeinsatz und die Kosten für verschiedene Fertigungsmethoden.

Wie funktioniert die Generative Design Extension?

Konstruktion der Blackbox

Zu Beginn kann eine simple Geometrie über die CAD-Features in der Software erzeugt werden – diese stellt den generell zur Verfügung stehenden Bauraum dar.

Konstruktion weiterer Randbedingungen

Zusätzlich können neben der Startgeometrie auch Körper definiert werden, an denen die Lager- und Lastbedingungen definiert werden, die dann die Basis für die Topologieoptimierung bieten (grüne Bereiche beinhalten Lasten und Lager, gelbe die Startgeometrie).

Erstellung von Hindernissen

Sollten bestimmte Bereiche definitiv nicht als Blackbox verwendet werden, so können diese als Hindernisse definiert werden. Das können zum Beispiel andere Bauteile in einer Konstruktion sein (hier beispielhaft das rot markierte Bauteil).

Definition der Lasten und Lager

Wie im Beispielbild gezeigt, können Lagerflächen oder -punkte und Lasten angegeben werden. Das kann über einfache punktuelle Kräfte oder Flächenkräfte, Momente oder viele weitere Möglichkeiten definiert werden.

Definition der Ziele und Fertigungsmethoden

Die Geometrien können nach Steifigkeit oder Gewicht optimiert werden. Zudem können ein oder mehrere bevorzugte Materialien ausgewählt werden. Anschließend folgt die Auswahl der Fertigungsmethoden – bislang umfassen diese Additiv, bis zu 5-Achs-Fräsen und in der Preview Druck- bzw. Spritzguss.

Generierung der verschiedenen Designs

Anschließend werden vollautomatisch anhand sämtlicher Randbedingungen verschiedene Designoptionen errechnet. Bereits nach wenigen Minuten kann beobachtet werden, wie die verschiedenen Algorithmen unterschiedliche Formbildungsansätze verfolgen und zu jeder Fertigungs- und Materialkombination Designs erzeugen.

Auswahl eines oder mehrerer Generative Designs

Anschließend können die erzeugten Designs direkt in ein Flächenmodell überführt werden – dieser Prozess dauert wenige Sekunden. Es können aus sämtlichen erzeugten Designs Flächenmodelle erzeugt und weiterverwendet werden. Die Ergebnisse sind zudem anhand verschiedenster Auswertungen miteinander vergleichbar.

Weitere Möglichkeiten in Fusion 360 nach Designerstellung

Anschließend können verschiedenste Funktionen von Fusion 360 verwendet werden, um die unterschiedlichen Designs auf ihre Eignung zu prüfen. Zum Beispiel eignet sich die Simulation Extension hervorragend dazu, die unterschiedlichen Geometrien auf ihre Festigkeiten, die Füllbarkeit oder den Verzug hin zu analysieren und noch weitere Optimierungen vorzunehmen.

Modernste Visualisierungsmöglichkeiten an einem Ort

3D-Rendering ist das Verfahren, bei dem mithilfe von Computersoftware aus einem Modell ein Bild generiert wird. Rendering kommt in zahllosen Branchen und Anwendungsbereichen zum Einsatz: Architektur, Simulatoren, Computerspiele, Spezialeffekte in Spielfilmen und TV-Produktionen oder auch zur Visualisierung von Entwürfen.

Generative Design Extension
1701,- €pro Jahr
  • - Topologieoptimierung
  • - 2,5-, 3-, 5-Achsfräsen
  • - Metall- und Spritzguss
  • - beachtet Wanddicken und Entformungsschrägen
  • - 3D-Druck (Additiv)
  • - Unzählige Designalgorithmen für neue Produkte

Zurück zur Fusion 360 Startseite

Übersicht über Autodesk Fusion 360 und die Product Design & Simulation Extension

Für weiterführende Informationen zur Bedienung und Anwendung von Fusion 360 empfehlen wir den Besuch unserer Schulungen.